Charming Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris

Popularly known as Sacre Coeur, this charming basilica sits on the top of a hill in the Montmartre district. Surprisingly and thankfully we were blessed with a bright and sunny day during December. So we decided to make hay while the sun shines and quickly hopped on a taxi instead of using public transport (to save time and money). I was taken aback by the simplicity, charm and beauty of Sacre Coeur. DSC_6167.jpgThe architecture of Sacre Couer is pretty interesting mix of Roman style and also resembles the architecture of Temples in India. Interiors of the basilica is also pretty interesting.

DSC_6158.jpg

On a nice sunny day, I can spend hours sitting outside this Basilica watching the beautiful city of Paris. DSC_6156.jpg Though this hill is not exactly in the centre of Paris, but one can enjoy amazing views of the city, including that of my favourite….guess what Eiffel Tower 🙂

DSC_6170.jpg

A trip to Sacre Couer was not on my primary agenda, but am so glad I made it on my very second day. Sacre Couer for me undoubtedly was the best hidden gem (standing tall on the hill top), which I explored in Paris.

3 thoughts on “Charming Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris

    • thanks Archana. I’m glad you liked the pictures. I too love shooting Eiffel and despite lot of trees and poles in the line of sight, I really loved the views on a sunny day especially in the winter 🙂

Leave a Reply

